Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract
SSAT Foundation 2016 Year-End Report

SSAT Foundation 2016 Year-End Report
» SSAT Foundation Chair's Message
» SSAT Foundation History
» Frank G. Moody Memorial Fund for Research and Education in Digestive Surgery
» 2016 Career Development Award Recipients
» 2016 Residents and Fellows Research Conference Presentation Awards
» 2016 Invited Speaker Sessions at the SSAT Annual Meeting
» 2016 Mentored Research Award Recipients
» 2016 Traveling Fellowships
» 2016 Master Educator and Clinician Awards
» Foundation Awards Reception Review
» A Look Back at Nearly Three Decades of SSAT Career Development Awards
» Major Gifts Honor Roll
» Giving Opportunities
» AmazonSmile: Support the SSAT Foundation
» 2017 Foundation Award Application Deadlines

  Make a Donation

Officers and Trustees

David W. Rattner, MD, Chair
Jennifer F. Tseng, MD, Secretary
Mary T. Hawn, Treasurer
Susan Galandiuk, MD
Robin S. McLeod, MD
Fabrizio Michelassi, MD
Nathaniel J. Soper, MD
Mark A. Talamini, MD
Selwyn M. Vickers, MD
Charles J. Yeo, MD


500 Cummings Center
Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
Tel. (978) 927-8330
Fax: (978) 524-8890

  Follow SSAT on Twitter

2016 Residents and Fellows Research Conference Presentation Awards

The SSAT Residents and Fellows Research Conference, funded by the Foundation, is a daylong session held annually in conjunction with Digestive Disease Week, at which the residents and fellows who serve as the presenting authors of the highest ranked abstracts from the Annual Meeting are given the opportunity to present their own work and hear and discuss the work of their colleagues from around the world. SSAT Board, Program, and Resident and Fellow Education Committee members spend an entire day with these young surgeons, with the top presenter(s) receiving modest award(s). This Conference, which includes a keynote speaker who addresses issues of importance to trainees, provides the participants a stimulating educational environment and an opportunity to interact directly not only with senior members of the Society but also with their peers. This experience solidifies the residents and fellows’ knowledge and commitment to the research endeavors within the specialty, thereby strengthening the future of the specialty and the Society as well.

The 2016 Research Conference Participants

The 2016 Research Conference Presentation Award recipients are:

Evolution of Outcomes of Patients with Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma Undergoing Pancreatoduodenectomy following Preoperative Therapy
Jordan Cloyd
MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Inhibition of Pancreatic Cancer Cell and Stroma Growth with a Downstream Hedgehog Antagonist
Kim C. Honselmann
University of Luebeck, Luebeck, Germany

Application of Gold Nanorods in Cancer Theranostics
Mohan Singh
Imperial College London, Birmingham, United Kingdom