Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract
SSAT Year-End Newsletter

SSAT Year-End Newsletter
» Presidentís Message from Nathaniel J. Soper, M.D.
» SSAT 58h Annual Meeting at Digestive Disease Week 2017
» Frank G. Moody Memorial Fund for Research and Education in Digestive Surgery
» SSAT Award, Fellowship, and Scholarship Deadlines
» JOGS Online CME Offerings
» New Enduring Material Online CME Offerings
» SSAT Program Committee Report
» Thoughts from the Research Committee
» Diversity and Inclusion Liaison Committee Report
» Try the free iOS and Android App for the SSATís official journal, the Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery (JOGS)
» Member Upgrade
» Sponsor a new SSAT Member Today
» Support the SSAT Foundation

  Make a Donation

Officers and Trustees

Nathaniel J. Soper, MD, President
Stanley W. Ashley, MD, President-Elect
Kevin E. Behrns, MD, Vice President
Mary T. Hawn, MD, Treasurer
Jennifer F. Tseng, MD, Secretary
Mark A. Talamini, MD, Recorder
Selwyn M. Vickers, MD, Chair
Imran Hassan, MD
Richard A. Hodin, MD
Daniel B. Jones, MD
Fabrizio Michelassi, MD
Robin S. McLeod, MD
Marco G. Patti, MD
Taylor S. Riall, MD, PhD
Samuel Shuchleib Chaba, MD
Steven C. Stain, MD
Jean Nicolas Vauthey, MD
Matthew Walsh, MD
Sharon M. Weber, MD


500 Cummings Center
Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
Tel. (978) 927-8330
Fax: (978) 524-8890

PLEASE NOTE Ė as of January 1, 2017, the SSAT office suite number will be Suite 4400. Please note this in your records.

  Follow SSAT on Twitter

Thoughts from the Research Committee
We are honored to represent the SSAT and its mission to promote GI surgery research. Over the last year our committee has taken on several new initiatives. We have worked very closely with the Research Foundation of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgery to support a joint award. Through this collaboration we have doubled the amount of money we will give to an investigator for research into diseases of the lower GI tract. We are very excited for this new grant; apply for the SSAT and Research Foundation of the ASCRS Joint Research Award by February 17, 2017. In addition, we have worked very closely with Dr. Orlando Kirton, the immediate Past President of the Society of Black Academic Surgeons (SBAS), to develop the SSAT/SBAS Resident/Fellow Research Award, to be given to a resident member of the SBAS in support of research to be done in the laboratory of a member of the SSAT. The inaugural requests for proposals for both of these awards went out this year, and we are looking forward to awarding them to outstanding applicants. It is an honor to work for the SSAT and we look forward to the next round of research proposals.